
12%

Under the old system, large numbers of people 
were kept in jail for months, and sometimes for 
years, for low-level offenses simply because 
they could not afford bail.

Under the old system, a judge was obligated to 
set bail in most cases.  A dangerous defendant 
with money could post bail and be released.  
Now a dangerous defendant can be detained.

A 2013 study revealed that about 12 percent of New Jersey’s 
county jail population remained in custody because they could 
not post bail of $2,500 or less.

Under the current 
system, judges 
use an objective 

risk-assessment tool to decide 
whether to detain until trial 
dangerous defendants who 
pose a serious risk of flight or 
danger to the public.  Judges 
consider factors such as the 
defendant’s age at the time of 
arrest, pending charges, prior 
convictions and whether any 
of those involved violence, 
prior failures to appear, and 
prior jail sentences.

The public’s role in criminal justice reform: For the 
first time, voters in November 2014 approved a 
change to the New Jersey Constitution allowing for 
the pretrial detention of defendants.  This change 
took effect on Jan. 1, 2017.

Before Jan. 1, 2017, the state had no speedy 
trial statute or rules, which meant that some 
cases could sometimes take years to go from 
arrest to trial.  The new speedy trial law applies 
to defendants who are subjected to pretrial 
detention.  The speedy trial component 
establishes limits on the amount of time a 
defendant can remain detained before trial.

The current criminal justice system is fairer to 
poor people and to those who cannot afford to 
pay money bail, have not committed serious 
offenses, and are not a threat to public safety.
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1. Criminal justice reform is a joint effort of all three 
branches of government.  A committee established by 
Chief Justice Stuart Rabner developed and issued a series 
of recommendations that were incorporated into 
landmark legislation.  In November 2014, voters approved 
a constitutional change to permit judges to keep high-risk 
defendants detained without bail. 

2. The new criminal justice system is fairer to those who 
previously could not afford to pay money bail, have not 
committed serious offenses and are not a threat to 
public safety. 

3. Before criminal justice reform, large numbers of people 
were kept in jails for months and sometimes years for 
low-level offenses. 

4. Under the old system, a judge was obligated to set bail no 
matter how serious the crime.  A dangerous defendant 
with money could post bail and be released into the 
community without regard to public safety. 

5. Since Jan. 1, 2017, when criminal justice reform became 
effective in New Jersey, defendants who are arrested are 
charged through either a complaint-summons or a 
complaint-warrant. 

6. Individuals charged on a complaint-summons are given a 
court date and released.

7. Individuals charged on a complaint-warrant are taken 
into custody by law enforcement and are assessed 
through an objective screening tool called a public safety 
assessment (PSA). 

8. Individuals charged under a complaint-warrant will 
appear before a judge within 48 hours of their arrest 
unless the prosecutor has filed a motion for pretrial 
detention. If the prosecutor filed a motion for pretrial 
detention before the defendant’s first appearance, then 
the first appearance is scheduled up at an additional three 
business days later.  The judge, using the PSA score as a 
guide, will decide whether to release the defendant and 
could order conditions such as electronic bracelet 
monitoring or periodic reporting to pretrial services. 

9. The New Jersey Judiciary has established pretrial services 
units at the Administrative Office of the Courts and in each 
vicinage (court district) to make sure defendants who are 
released before trial comply with the terms of their 
release, such as appearing in court when required. 

10. A judge can order a defendant held in jail until trial if the 
defendant is determined to be dangerous.  A judge can 
only consider such a request if a prosecutor asks.
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