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Municipal Court Services 
How to Appeal a Decision of a Municipal Court 
Updated April 7, 2022 

 

How to Appeal a Decision of a Municipal Court 
Who Should Use This Packet? 

If you have been found guilty and have been sentenced by a Municipal Court judge and you 
want to appeal, then this packet will show you how.  Some reasons to file an appeal are: 
• You believe the facts do not support the judge’s decision; or  
• You believe the judge’s decision does not follow the law. 

Important Points to Remember: 
The Municipal Court must receive your Notice of Municipal Court Appeal form within 20 days 
(including weekends and holidays) from the date you were found guilty (see Steps 1 and 3 on 
page 4). 

There is a $100 filing fee plus a transcript fee which you must pay in advance.  Both of these 
fees are non-refundable (see Steps 2 and 6). 

If you were represented by a court appointed lawyer in your Municipal Court proceeding, please 
consult with that person prior to filing your appeal.  The assigned counsel can help you file your 
appeal. 

Note: These materials have been prepared by the New Jersey Administrative Office of the 
Courts for use by self-represented litigants.  The guides, instructions, and forms will be 
periodically updated as necessary to reflect current New Jersey statutes and court rules.  The 
most recent version of the forms will be available at the county courthouse, your local 
Municipal Court or on the Judiciary’s Internet site njcourts.gov.  However, you are ultimately 
responsible for the content of your appeal. 

https://njcourts.gov/
https://njcourts.gov/
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Things to Think About Before You Try to Represent Yourself in Court 

Try to Get a Lawyer 
The court system is often complicated and confusing.  As a result, you may wish to consult with 
a lawyer before deciding whether to represent yourself in court.  If you cannot afford a lawyer 
or do not know how to go about finding a lawyer, you can: 

• Call the New Jersey Attorney Referral Office in your county; or 
• Ask any of the State or County Bar Associations for the names of lawyers who may be able 

to represent you at a reduced price. 

Note: If you believe you qualify for a court-appointed lawyer, ask the court staff at either the 
Municipal or Superior Court for more information.  The court staff can give you the forms 
needed to apply for a court-appointed lawyer. 

What You Should Expect If You Represent Yourself 
While you have the right to represent yourself in court, you should not expect special treatment, 
help or attention from the court.  The following is a list of some things court staff can and 
cannot do for you.  Please read it carefully before asking court staff for help. 

• We can explain and answer questions about how the court works. 
• We can tell you what the requirements are to have your case considered by the court. 
• We can give you some information from your case file. 
• We can provide you with samples of court forms that are available. 
• We can provide you with guidance on how to fill out forms. 
• We can usually answer questions about court deadlines. 

• We cannot give you legal advice.  Only your lawyer can give you legal advice. 
• We cannot give you an opinion about what will happen if you bring your case to court. 
• We cannot recommend a lawyer, but we can provide you with the telephone number of a 

local lawyer referral service. 
• We cannot talk to the judge for you about what will happen in your case. 
• We cannot let you talk to the judge outside of court. 
• We cannot change an order issued by a judge. 

Court Rules About Municipal Court Appeals 
You can get additional information on how to file a Municipal Court appeal by looking up Rule 
3:23 in the Rules Governing the Courts of the State of New Jersey.  Although this packet will 
walk you through the appeal process, you should consider reading this rule if you decide to file 
your own Municipal Court appeal.  A copy of the rule book is available at the State Library in 
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Trenton, law libraries, and at many of the county and municipal public libraries located 
throughout the State. 

Checklist 
Please feel free to use this Checklist as you complete each of the six steps discussed in the 
following section.  Please pay close attention to the time frames indicated in each Step. 

 Complete Form A (Notice of Municipal Court Appeal) – See STEP 1 
 Complete Form B (Transcript Request – Municipal Court) – See STEP 2 
 Contact the Municipal Court to determine what the estimated cost of the Transcript will 

be – See STEP 2 
 After completing Form B (Transcript Request – Municipal Court), take it to the 

Municipal Court to order the correct number of transcripts.  Please remember to 
bring/enclose a check to pay for the transcript – See STEP 2 

 Mail or deliver Form A (Notice of Municipal Court Appeal) to the Municipal Court – See 
STEP 3 

 Mail or deliver a copy of Form A (Notice of Municipal Court Appeal) to the Prosecuting 
Attorney(s) – See STEP 4 

 Complete Form C (Certification of Timely Filing) – See STEP 5 
 Mail or deliver a copy of Form A and the completed Form C, along with the $100 filing 

fee, to the Criminal Division Manager at the Superior Court – See STEP 6 
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The numbered steps listed below tell you what forms you will need to fill out and what to do with them.  Each 
form should be typed or printed clearly on 8 ½ “x 11” white paper only.  Forms cannot be filed on a different 
size or color paper.  Use only the forms included in this packet.  Be sure to keep a copy for your records. 

Steps for Filing an Appeal 

STEP 1: Fill out the Notice of Municipal Court Appeal (Form A) 

STEP 2: Fill out the Transcript Request Municipal Court (Form B) 
As part of the appeal process, you must order an original and a copy of the written record, also 
called a transcript, of your Municipal Court hearing.  To order these transcripts, you must fill 
out Form B - Transcript Request-Municipal Court and mail or deliver it to the Municipal Court 
where your hearing took place. 

NOTE: You will have to pay for the transcript in advance.  This non-refundable fee depends on 
the length of your trial.  Before you send or deliver the Transcript Request-Municipal Court 
form to the court, please call the court to get from them 1) the estimated cost of the transcript 
and 2) who the check should be written to.  If you cannot afford to pay for the transcript, ask 
court staff at either the Municipal or Superior Court how you can apply to have the transcript 
produced at court expense. 

One of the two transcripts you are required to order is for the Prosecutor and the other is for the 
Criminal Division Manager at the Superior Court (see STEPS 4 and 6).  If you want a transcript 
for yourself, you should order a third copy when you place your original transcript order. 

STEP 3: Mail or deliver Form A - Notice of Municipal Court Appeal to the Municipal 
Court 
In order to let the Municipal Court Administrator of the Municipal Court in which you were 
originally found guilty know that you are filing an appeal, you must mail or deliver Form A - 
Notice of Municipal Court Appeal to that court.  The Municipal Court must receive this form no 
later than 20 calendar days (this includes weekends and holidays) after the date you were 
found guilty.  If the Municipal Court does not RECEIVE the appeal form by the 20-day 
deadline, your appeal will not be heard. 

Note: Before you deliver or mail the original of Form A to the Municipal Court, please make 
some extra copies.  The information contained in STEPS 4 and 6 will let you know how many 
copies you will need.  These additional copies are needed to help you complete the filing of 
your appeal. 

If you mail Form A instead of delivering it in person, you should send it certified mail, return 
receipt requested.  Your post office can tell you how to do this. 
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STEP 4: Mail or deliver a copy of Form A - Notice of Municipal Court Appeal to the 
Prosecutor 
You must send a copy of Form A to the Prosecutor no later than five (5) days after you mailed 
or delivered the original copy of Form A to the Municipal Court.  If you mail the form, instead 
of delivering it in person, you should send it certified mail, return receipt requested. 

In almost all cases the prosecuting attorney is the County Prosecutor.  However, in some cases 
the prosecuting attorney may be a different person.  To determine if the prosecuting attorney for 
your case may be someone other than the County Prosecutor, please refer to the sheet at the end 
of this packet labeled Determining the Prosecuting Attorney. 

STEP 5: Fill out Form C - Certification of Timely Filing 
Fill out Form C - Certification of Timely Filing and attach it to a copy of Form A.  Form C is 
your certification telling the court that you mailed the necessary papers on time and to the 
correct places. 

Note: If you want the court to send you copies of the forms stamped “filed” include one extra 
copy of each form along with a self-addressed, stamped envelope. 

STEP 6: Mail or deliver a copy of Form A - Notice of Municipal Court Appeal and the 
original of Form C - Certification of Timely Filing to the Criminal Division Manager at the 
Superior Court 
You must send a copy of Form A - Notice of Municipal Court Appeal and the original of Form 
C - Certification of Timely Filing to the Criminal Division Manager at the Superior Court.  The 
Superior Court must receive these forms no later than five (5) days after the original copy of 
Form A - Notice of Municipal Court Appeal was received by the Municipal Court.  If you mail 
the forms, you should send them in one envelope certified mail, return receipt requested. 

The copy of Form A and the original of Form C should be mailed or delivered to the Criminal 
Division Manager at the County Courthouse in the county where the original Municipal Court 
case was heard.  This address can be found in the Directory of Superior Court Clerk’s Offices-
Law Division contained in this packet.  If you are not sure which county you should file your 
appeal in, ask someone at the Municipal Court for assistance. 

Note: A filing fee of $100 is required to file your Notice of Appeal with the Criminal Division 
Manager.  Make the check or money order payable to the Treasurer, State of New Jersey.  
However, if you cannot afford to pay for filing the appeal, ask the court staff at either the 
Municipal or Superior Court how to apply for the waiver of the filing fee. 
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New Jersey Judiciary 
Notice of Municipal Court Appeal 

Title of Action Superior Court of 
v. 

Municipal Court Ticket or Complaint Number (refer to ticket or complaint) 

Your Information 
Name Contact Phone Number 

Street Address City State Zip 

Lawyer’s Information (if applicable) 
Name Contact Phone Number 

Street Address City State Zip 

If you were represented by a lawyer, was he/she appointed by the court? ☐ Yes ☐ No

I,         , am appealing to the Superior Court from a conviction 
entered in the  Municipal Court on                         . 

On that date, I was convicted of the following offense(s): 

The Municipal Court Judge found me guilty and ordered the following: 
☐ Fine (Specify Amount): $  

☐ Restitution (Specify Type):  Amount $ 

☐ Jail Sentence (Length of Sentence):

☐ Community Service (Describe):

☐ Probation (Length):

☐ Driver License Suspension (Length of Suspension):

☐ Other Penalty (Specify):
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In connection with this outcome: 

☐ No Fine was Assessed or 

☐ A Fine was Assessed and: 
 ☐ has been paid 
 ☐ has not been paid 
 ☐ has been stayed pending appeal 
 
☐ No Jail Term was Imposed or 

☐ A Jail Term was Imposed: 
 ☐ however, I am not in jail 
 ☐ I am in jail confined at the following facility: 
   
 
A Sound Recording was made in the above matter at the time of the trial, as required by  
Rule 7:8-8. 
 
 Docket Number  
  (Superior Court Use Only) 
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New Jersey Judiciary 
Transcript Request-Municipal Court 

Title of Action Municipal Court of 
v. 

Name of Municipal Court Judge County Date(s) of Hearing(s) 

Complete This Section Only If You Are Filing an Appeal of a Municipal Court Judgment 

To file a Municipal Court appeal, you must order and pay in advance for a minimum of two 
(2) copies of your court case transcript.  The Municipal Court Administrator will file the
original copy of the transcript with the Criminal Division Manager at the Superior Court and a
certified copy with the Prosecuting Attorney.  You may also order one or more copies of the
transcript for yourself if you choose, at an additional charge.
Number of transcripts requested: 
Copy for the Criminal Division Manager at the Superior Court (required) 
Copy or copies for the Prosecuting Attorney or Attorneys (a minimum of one is required) 
Additional copies (optional) 
Total Copies Ordered 
Your Name Telephone Number 

Street Address City State Zip 

I agree to pay for the preparation and all copies ordered of the transcript. 

Date Signature 

Type or Print Your Name 

New Jersey Court Rule 3:23-8(a) requires that when an appeal is filed, the original 
transcript must be filed with the Criminal Division Manager at the Superior Court and a 
certified copy with the Prosecuting Attorney. 

Note: Before you send or deliver the Transcript Request-Municipal Court form to the court, 
contact the court for the estimated cost of the transcript and who to make the check out to. 

(Court Use Only) 
Amount of Deposit: $        
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Certification of Timely Filing 

I certify that a copy of the Notice of Municipal Court Appeal form (Form A) has been mailed 
or delivered to the Municipal Court Administrator of 
the                                                   Municipal Court, and also to the Prosecuting Attorney(s), 
within the deadlines specified by the Rules of Court.  In addition, I certify that I have 
contacted the Municipal Court Administrator of the Municipal Court stated above, before 
filing my Notice of Municipal Court Appeal, and I have ordered an original and a copy of 
the transcript of my proceedings. 

Additionally, if required, I have paid the transcript deposit specified by the Municipal 
Court Administrator to have the transcript produced. 

   
Date  Appellant Signature 
   
  Type or Print Your Name 
 
List the name(s) and address(es) of the Prosecuting Attorney(s) who has been provided with a 
copy of Form A (Notice of Municipal Court Appeal). 

(a)  (b)  
 (Name)  (Name) 

    
 (Address)  (Address) 

    
 (City, State & Zip Code)  (City, State & Zip Code) 

(c)  (d)  
 (Name)  (Name) 

    
 (Address)  (Address) 

    
 (City, State & Zip Code)  (City, State & Zip Code) 
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Determining the Prosecuting Attorney 

In order for you to file a copy of Form A (Municipal Court Appeal) with the Prosecuting 
Attorney, you must first determine who the Prosecuting Attorney for your case will be when it 
gets to the Superior Court.  It may be an attorney representing the Municipality where your 
matter was heard, the County Prosecutor or even an attorney from the office of the State 
Attorney General.  Who the Prosecuting Attorney will be is determined by the nature of the case 
on which you are appealing.  For example: 
a) If one or more of the charges on which you were found guilty and are appealing is a

municipal ordinance violation, a copy of Form A (Notice of Municipal Court Appeal) must
be mailed or delivered to the Municipal Attorney for the town where the Municipal Court is
located.  Staff at the town’s main administrative building can provide you with the name and
address of the Municipal Attorney.

b) If your appeal is based on a claim that a State law, statute, rule, regulation, or an order by the
executive branch of government is unconstitutional, then a copy of Form A (Notice of
Municipal Court Appeal) must be mailed or delivered to the Office of the Attorney General,
at the following address:
Office of the Attorney General
R. J. Hughes Justice Complex
25 Market Street, P.O. Box 080
Trenton, NJ 08625

c) For all other matters, a copy of Form A (Notice of Municipal Court Appeal) must be mailed
or delivered to the County Prosecutor.  This includes most traffic offenses and driving while
intoxicated (DWI) violations.  Please be aware that your case may require you to send a
copy of Form A (Notice of Municipal Court Appeal) to more than one Prosecuting Attorney.
For example, if one of the charges is a municipal ordinance violation and another a speeding
offense, then you will need to send a copy of Form A to both the Municipal Attorney and the
County Prosecutor.  The Municipal Prosecutor, the local police department or Municipal
Court staff can provide you with information on whether a particular charge is a municipal
ordinance violation or a State law violation.  Finally, if you are still unsure who the
Prosecuting Attorney in your case will be, you may want to consider sending a copy of Form
A (Notice of Municipal Court Appeal) to the County Prosecutor, the Municipal Attorney,
and the State Attorney General.  Please refer to the Summary Table below for information
on determining the Prosecuting Attorney(s).
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Summary 

If you are appealing: You must send a notice to: 
A Municipal Ordinance violation The Municipal Attorney for the town where the 

Municipal Court is located 
A violation of State law, (i.e., a traffic 
violation, assault charge or most other 
matters) 

The County Prosecutor 

The Constitutionality of the law, rule, 
regulation, or an Executive Order 

The Office of the Attorney General 

If you are not sure who the Prosecuting 
Attorney will be 

Ask the Municipal Prosecutor or Municipal 
Court staff for help 
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Directory of Superior Court Clerk’s Offices- Law Division 
A copy of the Notice of Municipal Court Appeal (Form A) must be sent to the Criminal 
Division at the Superior Court in the county where you are filing your Appeal. 

Atlantic County  
Municipal Appeals Clerk 
Atlantic County Courts 
Complex 
4997 Unami Boulevard 
Mays Landing, NJ 08330 
609-402-0100 ext. 47340

Bergen County  
Criminal Division Manager 
Bergen County Courthouse 
10 Main Street, Room 124 
Hackensack, NJ 07601 
201-221-0700 ext. 25020

Burlington County  
Criminal Division Manager 
Burlington Courts Facility 
50 Rancocas Rd. -1st Fl. 
Mount Holly, NJ 08060 
609-288-9500 ext. 38125

Camden County  
Camden Criminal Records 
Camden County Hall of 
Justice 
101 South Fifth St. 
Camden, NJ 08103 
856-650-9100, ext. 43650

Cape May County 
Municipal Appeals Clerk 
Criminal Division 
Cape May County Superior 
Court 
4 Moore Rd. 
Cape May Court House, NJ 
08210 
609-402-0100 ext. 47433

Cumberland County  
Criminal Division Records 
60 West Broad Street 
Bridgeton, N.J. 08302 
856-878-5050 ext. 15640

Essex County  
Criminal Division Manager 
Essex County Veterans 
Courthouse 
50 West Market Street 
Newark, NJ 07102  
973-776-9300 ext. 55934

Gloucester County 
Criminal Division Records 
Gloucester County Justice 
Complex 
70 Hunter Street 
Woodbury, NJ 08096 
856-878-5050 ext. 15430

Hudson County 
Criminal Records Office 
Hudson County Admin. 
Building 
595 Newark Ave., Room 101 
Jersey City, NJ 07306 
201-748-4400 ext. 60138

Hunterdon County 
Municipal Appeals Clerk 
Hunterdon County Criminal 
Division 
Hunterdon County Justice 
Center 
65 Park Avenue 
Flemington, NJ 08822 
908-824-9750 ext. 13110

Mercer County 
Criminal Division Records 
Mercer County Courthouse 
400 S. Warren St., 
Room 109 
Trenton, NJ 08650 
609-571-4200 ext. 74074

Middlesex County  
Municipal Appeals Clerk 
Middlesex County 
Courthouse 
56 Paterson St. 
P.O. Box 964 
New Brunswick, NJ 08903 
732-645-4300 ext. 88142

Monmouth County  
Municipal Appeals Clerk 
Monmouth County 
Courthouse 
71 Monument Park 
Freehold, NJ 07728 
732-358-8700 ext. 87360

Morris County 
Criminal Division Manager 
Morris Superior Courthouse 
P.O. Box 910 Morristown, 
NJ 07960 862-397-5700 ext. 
75215

Ocean County  
Criminal Case Processing 
Ocean County Justice 
Complex 
120 Hooper Ave., Room 221 
Toms River, NJ 08753 
732-504-0700 ext 64282
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Passaic County 
Criminal Division Records 
Passaic County Courthouse 
77 Hamilton Street 
Paterson, NJ 07505 
973-653-2910 ext. 24397

Salem County 
Criminal Division Records 
Salem County Court House 
92 Market Street 
Salem, NJ 08079 
856-878-5050 ext. 15780

Somerset County 
Criminal Division Records 
Somerset County Courthouse 
- 2nd Fl.
20 North Bridge Street, P.O.
Box 3000
Somerville, NJ 08876
908-332-7700 ext. 13720

Sussex County 
Municipal Appeals Clerk 
Criminal Division 
Sussex County Judicial 
Complex 
43-47 High Street
Newton, NJ 07860
862-397-5700 ext. 75316

Union County 
Criminal Division Records 
Union County Superior 
Courthouse 
2 Broad St., 5th Fl. Tower 
Elizabeth, NJ 07207 
908-787-1650 ext. 21150

Warren County 
Municipal Appeals Clerk 
Warren County Criminal 
Division 
P.O. Box 900 
Belvidere, NJ 07823 
908-750-8100 ext. 13130
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